I Don’t Want a Big Government

I’m sometimes accused of wanting a big government. That really pisses me off.

True is, I don’t care how big the federal government is. In fact, I want it to be as small as practically possible.

I just want certain things done.

______

I want the most vulnerable people in America protected and cared for. I don’t want the richest individuals and corporations to be able to take advantage of others and impose their arbitrary wills on them.

I want our children and people kept safe.

I don’t want America to fall behind in developing new ideas that can help our people and our economy. I want research that will benefit all of us.

I want America to do whatever we reasonably can to help the poor, starving, and oppressed in other countries. I want good relations with other countries as much as possible, and I want us to stand up for other countries that are our friends and need help.

I want the environment protected for future generations.

I want laws that protect our rights and privacy, and I want those laws fairly and justly enforced.

I want to know that the food that I eat and the medication that I take is safe and effective.

I want world-class highways and infrastructure that are worthy of the richest country on the planet.

I want everyone to have access to good, basic health care.

I want people who lose their jobs for no fault of their own to be supported until they can find another one.

I want our children – all of our children – to receive a good education, regardless of where they live or how much money they have.

I want people treated fairly regardless of race, gender, sexual preference, or anything else that should be irrelevant. Yes, I want people judged by the content of their character, not the color of their skin.

I want safe workplaces, free from discrimination, where they can organize just like managers and owners can.

I want people to be able to speak freely, and worship as they please.

I want the homeless sheltered and the hungry fed.

I want our economy to run smoothly and productively for the benefit of everyone, not just the richest few.

_____

Yeah, I guess I want a lot. But it’s not an unreasonable list, and I don’t think it’s asking too much that the richest country on earth provide these things for its people. Other countries manage to.

If these things can be most efficiently and effectively accomplished with a bathtub-drownable-sized government, then bring it on.

The problem is, they can’t.

 

Leave a Reply

