A Fork in the Road

First of all, I would like to offer my sincere apologies to those of you who have been kind enough to follow and support me in my fledgling blogging career. May has not been kind to me. At the beginning of the month, my daughter – my oldest child – graduated from college; a significant emotional event for any parent.  And then, on Memorial Day, my older sister literally dropped dead of a massive heart attack. At the age of 56. Just over 40 1/2 years after our father suffered the same fate at the age of 49.  A truly significant emotional event which not only has boundless potential to fill this space for many weeks to come, but will also contribute to the financial stability of my therapist for the foreseeable future.

I’m a great believer in the adage ‘It’s an ill wind that doesn’t blow someone some good.” So, having reached a fork in the road, as Seyyal I’m going to take it.

Oh, no. I’m  not going to board the Pity Party bus and contemplate my navel. I think this journey probably has to begin with an examination of how death affects family dynamics: why does it always seem to bring out the ugliest in us? But what I really want to talk about are the things that matter. Like how this is the second family member I’ve lost due to our lousy healthcare system. Even though my sister had insurance, she decided to tough it out until Tuesday and see her PCP with a reasonable co-pay instead of going to the ER and rack up an unmanageable bill.

We’ll talk about how women have achieved parity in the sad category of death by cardiac episode. And how we don’t realize that our warning signs are not the same as men. We are just as likely to experience pain on the right side of our body as the left during a cardiac episode.

I’d like to talk about nutrition: maybe hit GMOs again, but definitely talk about how we’re killing ourselves little by little with every bite we take. Pescatarianism anyone? Vegetarian? Vegan? Raw? Paleo?

And I’d definitely like to share some of my thoughts regarding retirement: where is the balance between economic security and reasonableness? How many of us end up dying at our desks in an effort to get to some magical number in our retirement account?

I’d like for you to take this journey with me, and invite your loved ones to come along, too. If I can keep just one of you from having to endure the pain I’m experiencing right now, my sister will not have died in vain. So I encourage you to don your cyber ego or alter-ego and join in the discussions here over the next weeks.

us3*This picture was taken in 1997. Deborah is on the left.

One thought on “A Fork in the Road

  1. Pertinent read and I’ll be here. The statistics for African Americans and hear disease are alarming. The good news is people like you and many others recognize that African-Americans can improve their odds of preventing and beating these diseases via better understanding the risks and taking simple steps to address them.

Leave a Reply

